Nov 22, 2022

New Mayors Sworn in for College Station, Bryan

Steve Fullhart

The Cities of College Station and Bryan have new mayors, each who will help lead the Brazos Valley's economic development efforts among their many duties.

Bobby Gutierrez was sworn in as Bryan's new elected leader on November 17, 2022. The local businessman was most recently the councilman representing Single Member District 3, a position to which he was elected in 2020. Among his lengthy service record in the community, Gutierrez was part of Bryan's Planning & Zoning Commission and was Chairman of the Board of the Brazos Valley Economic Development Corporation for the 2019-2022 Board year.

On November 21, John Nichols was sworn in as College Station's mayor. The economist who is retired from Texas A&M University had been the Place 5 councilman for the city since 2012. Nichols was on College Station's Planning & Zoning Commission and chaired the Bryan/College Station Chamber of Commerce's Transportation Committee among his extensive community service.

Andrew Nelson and Karl Mooney depart as the mayors of Bryan and College Station, respectively, after serving two terms each. Both cities have a two-term limit for its mayors.

Both mayors automatically are part of the BVEDC's Board of Directors and serve on its Executive Committee along with the county judge of Brazos County, a representative from Texas A&M University, and the Board's four officers.

(Photo of Gutierrez from The Bryan/College Station Eagle; photo of Nichols from the City of College Station)